Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

 

14 April 2006 To 27 May 2006

 

MIKE

Khumbu Over the Top Expedition has three objectives; to rearch and record Sherpa vernacular architecture in the Rolwaling and Khumbu regions to take part in a climb of Mera Peak, and to follow and extend the Khumbu High Route from Barabise to Tumlingtar, Sherpa architecute. Tim and Mike Freeman become interested in Sherpa houses and other buildings during on earlier climbing trip (Tim is a specialist in restoring stone buildings and Mike’s background is in the art history of Asia.) They will study Sherpa architecture both for its perfect adaptation to its environments and as an expression of lively Sherpa culture and history.

Mera Peak:
Mera Peak lies directly along our route over the Khumbu. So of course we couldn’t resist asking some friends to join us in the climb. Mike will meet Evan Jones, Steve and Tim FreemanFranchesca Walker, and Lia Van Damm at Pangboche, and we will all attempt the climb of the three Mera summits.


TIM

Honku High Route:

After descending to Mera La, Mike and Evan will turn north and west, passing Panch Pokhari, West Col and Sherpani before descending to the Arun near Makalu. Once we reach Tumlingtar, the traverse of the whole Khumbu will be completed. Because of the extreme altitude, use of alpine style, great distance, and the fact that, aside from the Mera Climb, we will be pretty good for some old guys.
Of course we couldn’t do it without the Peak Promotion team and we deeply appreciate all of them. We also got help from Mountain Hardwear, Hille Berg Tents, Osprey Packs, and many, many others most of all our infinitely patient wives and loved ones.

 

 

27 May Saturday, Final Departure...

22 May Monday, Mike, Tim and Evan arrived… Steve, Frenchesca and Lia leaved...

20 May Saturday, Arrived in Kathmandu... 21 May Sunday, Full day sightseeing...

16 May Tuesday, Bordered by green pine tress. Rhododendron tress, Mani stones...

15 May Monnday, It was a great camp site by the Dudhkoshi River...

14 May Sunday, We had our lunch at upper Pangboche...

13 May Saturday, We saw that it was snowing over Chukung and Island peak...

12 May Friday, Summit Island Peak:Commenced climbing at 02:00 under clear skies..

11 May Thursday, We practiced general climbing training...

10 May Wednesday, Island peak Base Camp...

09 May Tuesday, Around the meditation cave...

08 May Monday, The memorial place above Dhugla...

07 May Sunday, Everest Base Camp : The route is over a receded galacier...

06 May Saturday, Kalapattar the finest "photo" spot in Khumbu...

05 May Friday, Taking an extra rest day at Lobuche...

04 May Thursday, Lobuche; As significant elevation gain of 580 meters...

03 May Wednesday, Visit the Himalayan Rescue Association...

02 May Tuesday, Tengboche to Dingboche...

30 April Sunday, Namche Rest Day...

29 April Saturday, Mike's Friend to Namche...

28 April Friday, Mike's Friends start Trek...

27 April Thursday, Crossing Chola Pass...

26 April Wednesday, Mike and the team reached Gokyo, rest of the team arrived...

21 April Friday, Khumbu Looks Prosperous...

14 April Friday, Mike and Tim arrived in Kathandu...

110
001
spacebar
11


Click Here

 
© Copyright 2010 Peak Promotion Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
We are a Registered with Goverment of Nepal and The Active Member of
Nepal Tourism Board
Nepal Association of Tour and Travel Agents
Trekking Agencies' Association of Nepal
Everest Summiteers Association
Nepal Mountaineering Association